Reynolds Players to Watch: Demetrios Ooga

01/03/2019

...Missed me?

Back from studio 29 for season 2 of Players to watch, the corny show where I pretend to be Jimmy Kimmel and my guest pretend to like me.

I sat down with the Face of the Expansion and current best team in the league(at the time of this interview) Demetrios Ooga.

Robin: Tell me your Story.

Ooga: Well I grew up loving the game, my father came over to the US from Greece on a boat with nothing when he was 13 and didn't even speak English. He watched a lot of fake baseball and fell in love while learning the language.

He passed that love on to me as growing up we watched tons of baseball whether it be MLR or lesser leaguesDebating this stat and this move or thatUntil I was old enough to statt playing myselfI never thought I was very good but apparently the talent is thereI played college ball for the Miami Hurricanes where my coaches never showed up. Especially that smelly one from Cleveland

R: HEY!

O: (laughs)

R: how was draft day for you like?

O: I was pretty certain after talking to GM's all around the league I would be gone very earlyI had no assurances but I was 90% sure I would be gone in the first 3 picksI was very happy about that to be recognized for the hard work I put into guessing them numbers

R:Did you have any expectations when drafted by miami?

O: I had spoken to Lane several times for long stretches and I was happy to be somewhere that I knew I would gel well with the manager
I was a little nervous when I saw Lane was picking his team based solely on personalityBut it turned out to be an excellent strategyOur clubhouse is fantastic and everyone is involved in scouting and decisionsOf course Lane has the final say but he includes us all in the conversation which is nice to keep everyone active and involved.

R: Did you feel nervous on opening day? you where facing the defending champs after all.

O: There's always going to be some nerves when you step out there for the first time on the big stage. But from the scrimmage we played against the defending Champs in the AL we were confidentAll you can ask is that you stay in the game and hope something goes your wayAnd our pitching staff has been phenomenal all season.

R: did you ever thought in your wildest dreams that you would be this succesful?

O: After my career in FCB and NPR I did not think I personally would be very successful. I know a few bounces my way can change things but as a team it seems activity sparks success and I can say firmly that we are definitely one of the more active teams.

R:we're the living proof of thatyour team has been undefeated thru 4 games nowwhat would you say was your hardest challenge and why it was the Devil Rays?(laughs)

O:I would say as a team the Mets gave us the biggest challenge.They scored first and retook the lead when we tied it, We were just lucky to have 3 perfect innings in relief from Tara that game to hold them off for the 1 run victory.



Five Oh One Difference - An MLR and RYL Sports Blog
All rights reserved 2018
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started